Chased By Something Unseen

It was close to sunset when Nan and I began our drive up the mountain. Part of the way up we pulled into a scenic turnout and and got out of the car to watch the sunset. The view was incredible.

As we enjoyed the beauty, I suddenly felt something strange nearby and I turned around to face the east. I couldn’t see anything but I could feel a presence approaching us. I felt very uncomfortable with this and anxious to be somewhere else. I turned to Nan and told her I thought we needed to get away from there. One look at her face told me she was feeling apprehensive too.

As fast as we could we got in the car, turned around, and headed back down the mountain. The sunlight suddenly failed completely and darkness descended on us like a snap of the fingers.

Whatever was out there was very close by. We could both feel it. I had to really fight to keep from giving in to panic as I drove down the twisting mountain road.

The presence stayed with us all the way down the mountain and into the outskirts of a small town, where we finally felt it suddenly depart. Nan, who had said nothing since we had jumped into the car and literally fled, looked at me and asked what that was. I told her I did not have any idea but I was certainly glad it was gone. Since we both were completely unnerved and exhausted from the experience we decided to drive some distance away from the area and find a room for the night.

What was it that chased us that night? Even after many years I still do not know. We have since been back to that same mountain and driven up that same road with no problems. We did make certain not to stop at that same turnout though.

This entry was posted in Experience, Life, Nostalgia, Scary, Strange, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Chased By Something Unseen

  1. Terra says:

    Indian spirit.

    Like

      • rubyjo1935 says:

        To remember hearing this story at the time and Harold and I have had some similar experienceces on our drives . It is really an eerie feeling and like nothing else ! One might Mary Lee and I had been to Shreveport and started home . We decided to make a last stop at a Love’s on the edge of Louisana . We exited and crossed the interstate and started into the area where the Loves’s station was and suddenly every light in the whole area went out . It was spooky and without street lights it was hard to see where we needed to turn to get back on the freeway. That eerie feeling was on us both, but I did not panic. After we reached the freeway and started back west since we were going to her house the lights were back on in the area we had left ! We felt it was a higher power telling to to get the heck out of Dodge and get our silly selves home !

        Liked by 1 person

      • Louis Hart says:

        Wow, that must have been a creepy moment. You should try and work some of those kinds of things into blog posts. I’ll bet some of the ones with Harold were really wild.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

