Home » Experience » Falling Up The Stairs

Falling Up The Stairs

Previously I wrote about the time I fell down the stairs. Fortunately I came out of that experience without any scratches, bruises, or broken bones. I did develop a keen attitude of caution and respect for the dangers of stairs. That one time was the only time I have had an uncontrolled descent of a stairway…and that once was more than enough.

Sadly, I can’t say the same about falling up the stairs.

How, you may wonder, can one fall up the stairs? It’s really quite easy, that I can assure you.

Consider, if you will, a person arrives at the bottom of some stairs with the intention of climbing them. Maybe because they are distracted or simply not paying attention they fail to lift their foot quite high enough and instead trip on the first step. Because of their momentum they pitch forward, landing prone with their upper body several steps above the first one. Bingo…that person has fallen up the stairs.

Depending on how tall the person is and/or the steepness of the staircase, one or more unpleasant things can be the result…many of which can be quite painful and bloody. If no injuries occur it’s at least a given that the person will feel terrible embarrassment, possibly blurt out a nasty word, and immediately look around to see if anyone was watching.

3 thoughts on “Falling Up The Stairs

  1. Are you sure you are not channeling me ? That fits me so perfectly it was uncanny . I can’t begin to tell you how many times that has happened to me !!! I am still deep into my quilting project . Two have been delivered . 6 or 7 more well underway . I have pretty much worked on them night and day , except for my walking at least 10,000 K per day. Definitely not all at the same time . I walk during my breaks .

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

