How Not To Photograph A Creek

During the years I lived in the Dallas area my favorite spot to go on my days off was a neat little place in Oklahoma, not very far past the state line.

It’s called Turner Falls. The waterfall there is simply beautiful. There are lots of hiking trails and things to explore.

Adventures? Oh yeah, and on one visit I managed to have one that was typical. I was photographing the creek considerably below the falls and decided I wanted to get a view from the middle of the creek. It was rather shallow and I found a place where I could step on several large rocks and actually be right in the middle of the flow without getting wet.

As I stood there, intent on focusing my camera, a splash of cold creek water hit my right ankle. Without thinking I quickly moved my foot. My balance was already precarious and that sudden movement resulted in my rear-end landing in the icy cold water of the creek. The people who were watching said they had never seen such wild scrambling to get back to dry land. I wasn’t hurt but from the waist down I was wet and miserable.

By the way, just as I plopped into the creek I accidentally clicked the shutter. The resulting picture was of my left foot just as it hit the water.

That was the first and last time I ventured into the middle of a creek with a camera.

This entry was posted in Experience, Life, Nature, Nonfiction, Nostalgia, Photography, Travel, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How Not To Photograph A Creek

  1. Terra says:

    Where’s the picture?

    Like

    • Louis Hart says:

      That was back in the days of cameras that used film. I have no idea where that negative is. At one time I had quite a collection of pictures of my foot…but that’s another story. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

